Counseling and Student Services

  • Welcome to the Counseling and Student Services Department information at Southeast Raleigh Magnet High School.

    CEEB/SAT/ACT/School Code:  343239

Our Mission

  • "We Are Student-Focused, Student-Driven"

    Our mission is to empower students with the knowledge and skillset to become powerful, informed, and productive citizens who lead and fostering positive change domestically and throughout the global community.

    Our primary focus is to support student's social, emotional, and academic success on an individual basis through strategic planning and monitoring of progress. We recognize that a student's overall well-being is fundamental to academic achievement of Social, Emotional, Learning (SEL) therefore a student and counselor collaboration is imperative in order to foster this on-going academic, social, and emotional endeavor. Counselors are here to support the WHOLE student while guiding and connecting them with in-school and outside-of-school resources/opportunities.

Our Department

  •  

                   School Counselors                      Support/Resource Staff                           

    Mrs. Cara Shaw

    Counselor

    Last Names A-D

    Email: cshaw@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x 24986

    Ms. Karon Manning 

    Guidance Technician

    Email: kcmanning@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x 24982

    Ms. Janet Hall

    Counselor

    Last Names E-K

    Email: jhall5@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x 24984

    Ms. Mariluz Landor Peterson

    Registrar

    Email: mlandorpeterson@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x 24966

    Ms. DaLena High

    Counselor

    Last Names L-P

    Email: dhigh3@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x 24976

    TBD

    Data Manager

    Email: TBD

    919-856-2800 x 24963

    Mr. James Kuhn 

    Counselor

    Last Names Q-Z

    Email: jkuhn2@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x 24996

    Ms. Sandra Winters

    Financial Aid Advisor

    919-856-2800

    Monday (only) 8:30 am – 2:00 pm

    (September – April)

    Ms. Angela Green

    SAP Counselor (Student Assistance Program):    Food Assistance, Clothing, Homebound Services, Community Resources, etc.  

    Email: agreen@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x TBD

    Mrs. Kimberly Schlink

    Academic Intervention Coordinator

    Email: kschlink@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x 25106

    Ms. Shanora Kingsberry

    Dean of Student Services

    Email: skingsberry@wcpss.net

    919-856-2800 x 25012

     
     

Contact Us

  • Call us: (919) 856-2800
  • Fax us: (919) 670-4474
  • Follow us on Twitter: @SrmhsCounselors
  • Shanora Kingsberry, Dean of Students