Return to Headlines

16 finalists named for Diane Kent-Parker Award

February 3, 2020
Every year our district honors a group of outstanding teachers from elementary, secondary and special education with the Diane Kent-Parker First-Year Teacher Award. These teachers are recognized for navigating the challenges of a new job with grace, skill and confidence. They serve as models for their colleagues and inspiration for their students.

Following are the 16 finalists for four awards (one from each level, plus Special Education). The winners will be announced at the Teacher of the Year celebration in May.

Rachel Giddings - Forestville Road Elementary
Sarah Holt - Harris Creek Elementary
Sarah Huggins - Hunter Magnet Elementary
Shannon Parker - Olive Chapel Elementary

Brianna Barbour - Apex Friendship Middle
Jennifer Gay - Hilburn Academy
Annette Kwasniak - Leesville Road Middle
Nathaniel Myers - Wakefield Middle

Amy March - Apex Friendship High
Ben Rogers - Green Level High
Michael Villanueva - Enloe Magnet High School
Alexa Wright - Cary High School

Special Education:
Sarah Hutchinson - Green Level High
Lynn Mackiewicz - Stough Magnet Elementary
Olivia Robinette - Moore Square Magnet Middle School
Storm Stuart - Moore Square Magnet Middle School