Return to Headlines

Congratulations to the 2023 Teacher of the Year Finalists!

TOY Finalists

The 2022-23 Teacher of the Year finalists were announced earlier today on @WCPSSTeam Twitter. We congratulate these masterful educators (pictured above starting top left, clockwise):

  • Jane Ferguson - Brooks Magnet Elementary, K-5 English Second Language
  • Terry Hennings - Garner Magnet High, 9th-12th Civic Literacy & African American Studies
  • Sarah Freeman - Wake Forest High, 9th-10th Grade English
  • Leroy Salazar - Wake Early College of Information & Biotechnologies, 9th-12th Grade Spanish
  • Kaitlyn Putt - Carroll Magnet Middle, 7th-Grade English Language Arts  
  • Tyler Ellzey - Buckhorn Creek Elementary, 3rd Grade
  • Darius Davis - Washington Magnet Elementary, Special Education (pictured in our homepage banner photo celebrating with students)
  • Ross Anderson - Moore Square Magnet Middle, 7th-Grade Social Studies
  • Ginny Clayton - Cary High, 9th-12th Grade English Second Language
  • Chris Stapleton - Apex Friendship High, 11th-12th Grade English

Teacher of the Year candidates are nominated and elected by their peers at their individual schools. All nominees develop an e-portfolio and short video to highlight their work and philosophy around teaching.


Selection committees review the portfolios and videos to narrow the field. Scores from the e-portfolio and the highlight video are combined with observation scores to determine the 10 finalists. The finalists then appear before an interview committee for the selection of the Teacher of the Year.


The winner will be named at a special celebration on April 27.