Return to Headlines

13 Teacher of the Year Finalists Named

April 6, 2017 
Out of nearly 11,000 teachers, 177 were named Teacher of the Year at their respective schools. Then came the difficult job of culling that list to 27 semi-finalists.

The job’s getting tougher. Now we are down to the 13 finalists who will compete for our district’s 2017-18 Teacher of the Year title.

Superintendent Jim Merrill and members of the WCPSS Human Resources team surprised each of these 13 finalists at their schools on April 6. Check out the pictures and video from the Surprise Patrol's visit to each school:

Congratulations to the following outstanding finalists:

Lindsey Barton, Smith Magnet Elementary
Rachel Castaneda, Highcroft Drive Elementary

Heather Collins, Heritage Elementary

Suzanne Gibbons, Wake STEM Early College

Betsy Graves, Needham B. Broughton High 
Kelly Harris, Rand Road Elementary

Christa Hayden, Wakefield High

Erica Hoskins, Apex High

Erin Johnson, Vernon Malone College and Career Academy

Angela Joyner, Zebulon Elementary

Erin Lawrence, Apex Friendship High

Kathleen Little, Green Magnet Elementary

Mary Allison Nunnery, Holly Ridge Elementary

Teacher of the Year candidates are nominated and elected by their peers at their individual schools. The nominees develop a portfolio that highlights their work and philosophy around teaching.

Selection committees review the portfolios and narrow the field to a group of semi-finalists, who then submit short videos reflecting how they incorporate the 4Cs (critical thinking, effective communication, collaboration and creativity) into their work. After reviewing these videos and making classroom visits, the committees determined the 13 finalists.

The finalists then appear before an interview committee. Interview scores will be combined with scores from three other components (portfolios, site observations, and videos) to determine the 2017-18 Teacher of the Year.

The semi-finalists were recognized at the March 7 Board of Education meeting. The winner will be named at a special celebration on May 8 at the Raleigh Convention Center.