Return to Headlines

Congratulations to the 2023-24 Teacher of the Year finalists!


Teacher of the Year Finalists


The finalists for the 2023-24 WCPSS Teacher of the Year have been announced! We congratulate these masterful educators: (pictured above starting top left, clockwise)

  • Ryan Berglund: Agriculture, Millbrook High
  • Juan Cruz: 5th Grade, Buckhorn Creek Elementary
  • Susan Ennis: CTE Health/Science, Leesville Road High
  • April Guenzler: Intervention, Lockhart Elementary
  • Monica Hall: Kindergarten, Timber Drive Elementary
  • Kelly Hurry: 2nd Grade, Laurel Park Elementary
  • Whitney Masterson: 8th Grade Science, Mills Park Middle
  • Madison Parker: Special Education ECS 1, Alston Ridge Elementary
  • Karen Rahe: 6th Grade Math, Dillard Drive Magnet Middle
  • Ashely N. Smith: 7th Grade ELA, Zebulon Magnet Middle

Teacher of the Year candidates are nominated and elected by their peers at their individual schools. All nominees develop an e-portfolio to highlight their work and philosophy around teaching.

Selection committees review the portfolios to narrow the field. Scores from the e-portfolio are combined with observation scores to determine the 10 finalists. The finalists then appear before an interview committee for the selection of the Teacher of the Year.

The winner will be named at a special celebration on May 6.


Teacher of the Year finalist