DRIVER ED. UPDATES (as of January 19, 2024)
Spring 2024 Driver Education Update
Drivers Ed Part 1: Classroom Instruction:
All Wakefield Drivers Ed classes for Spring 2024 have been filled. Registration can be monitored at www.jordandriving.com in the rare event that seats become available.
- Registration for the Spring 2024 semester opened on January 10. All roster spots for this semester’s DE classes have been taken; there are no seats left.
- The fee for Drivers Ed is $65.00, payable online, and covers both the classroom teaching and the driving instruction. No payment should be made until the student completes the registration for and is accepted into a specific month’s class. When the electronic registration for a particular class is completed, families will receive an email with payment instructions. There is a fee-waiver provision for families who are unable to afford the fee; specific information and forms can be found on the JDS site.
- Class dates for Summer 2024 will be posted on the JDS website in mid-March, and registration for those classes will take place in early April; a precise date for this has not been established yet.
Drivers Ed Part 2: Behind-the-Wheel Instruction:
Students are driven according to the month they took the classroom portion. Jordan is currently driving students from July 2023 classes.
- Driving instructors will contact the family initially by phone, using the phone numbers that were provided on the initial registration form. Instructors will want to speak with a parent.
- Each driving instructor has been trained in health and safety protocols and has specific directions to follow that are not negotiable. When you are called for BTW, the instructor will go over these with you.
General Drivers Ed Information:
- For a teen to enter the Graduated Licensing process, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction – that is, completion of both Parts of Drivers Ed. Teens must be at least 14 ½ years old by the first day of the class that they are registered for.
- To be eligible for a North Carolina Level 1 Learner’s Permit, students must have finished both parts (Classroom Instruction and Driving Instruction) of Drivers Ed and be between the ages of 14.5 and 18. When a student finishes only the Classroom Instruction portion, Drivers Ed is not over.
- The Classroom portion of Drivers Ed occurs first. Upon completion of Part 1, the student will be automatically placed in line for Part 2: Behind-The-Wheel training, which will be conducted at the school which the student attends. When both Instruction Parts are completed, the student will be given a Drivers Ed Completion Certificate, and the licensing process can begin at the DMV.
- There are no academic requirements to take the Driver Education class. There are specific academic requirements to apply for a permit or license at the NC DMV after finishing the class.
- Drivers Ed is an extracurricular activity; it is not part of the regular school day, nor is any academic credit given. Jordan Driving School has a contract with WCPSS to provide Drivers Education outside of school hours. Classroom instruction takes place after 2:30 on weekdays during the school year; driving instruction may also be provided on weekends, holidays, summer breaks, and other non-school days.
- Under North Carolina law, only citizens under the age of 18 are required to take Drivers Education. If the student is over or nearly 18 years old, please contact Mr. Tharrington directly.
- For additional information, an email should be sent to the Lead Teacher (email@example.com). You may also visit the JDS website to find general information, email addresses for Lead Teachers, specific classroom dates, and a list of additional classes that might be available. For Behind the Wheel questions or information specific to your school, contact your Lead Teacher directly.
Lead Teacher for Wakefield, NWCCA, Thales, and NRCA
Jordan Driving School