• Our Recognitions 

    National Magnet Schools Of America Recognition


    2022 Magnet School of Excellence 
    2020 Magnet School of Distinction 
    2019 Magnet School of Distinction
    2018 Magnet School of Excellence 
    2017 Magnet School of Distinction
    2016 Magnet School of Excellence
    Magnet Schools of America has established the Magnet Schools of Merit Award to recognize the top magnet schools in the United States. The Magnet Schools of Merit Award recognizes magnet schools that show a commitment to high academic standards, curriculum innovation, successful desegregation/diversity efforts, specialized teaching staffs, and parent and community involvement. Two categories of awards have been established by MSA: The top category given to a group of select magnet schools is the Magnet School of Excellence Award and the second category of awards is the Magnet School of Distinction Award. Schools recognized must be members of Magnet Schools of America and must submit an application that is scored by a panel of educators. Cash awards are provided to the top Magnet Schools of Excellence. More information.

  • 2021-2022 Teacher of the Year


    2021-2022 Instructional Assistant of the year


  • National Board Certified Teachers 

    The Wake County Public School System is the second largest employer in the nation of teachers and guidance counselors who have achieved certification by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS), employing 1,440 National Board Certified Teachers (NBCTs). The NBPTS was created in 1987, establishing a system of advanced certification for teachers based on high and rigorous standards. It identifies five core propositions that describe the knowledge, skills, and dispositions that characterize accomplished teaching. NBPTS created, where none existed before, professional standards for the nation's K-12 teachers. It provides a means for teachers and guidance counselors, like professionals in other fields, to achieve distinction by demonstrating, through a demanding performance assessment, that they meet high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. Congratulations to the following:
    • Nancy Hanley, Academically Intellectually Gifted Teacher
    • Joni Fowler, Second Grade Teacher
    • Carla Massengill, Fifth Grade Teacher
    • Dani Sams, Fourth Grade Teacher
    • Jenny Bormann Smith, Literacy Coach