First Grade

The fabulous first grade
  • What is special about First Grade?

    This slide will tell you more about first grade.

    Field trips: We plan fun and engaging field trips that align with our core curriculum content areas. 

    Holidays Around the World: Each class represents a different country and students travel and learn holiday customs throughout the week. We culminate the week with a food tasting.

    Hundreds Day: We celebrate the 100th day of school by sharing student-created at-home projects and fun activities in different classrooms.

     

    Team Leader:  Amanda Poole | email: acpoole@wcpss.net

    Lynzi Daniel | email: ldaniel@wcpss.net

    Katherine Hughes | email: kjhughes@wcpss.net

    Chapri Jordan | email: ljordan2@wcpss.net

    Alanya Schwenker | email: aschwenker@wcpss.net

    Instructional Assistant:  Doreen Rooney| email: drooney@wcpss.net 

     

     

  • Books and Beyond: 

    All 1st graders can participate in “Books and Beyond,” our reading incentive program that rewards Kindergarten and 1st-grade students for books read at school and at home.

    Parents help students keep track of their reading progress on recording sheets, and progress is tracked on a big bulletin board in their hallway.

    In the spring we have a special recognition ceremony honoring all of our fantastic readers. 

    Books and Beyond recording sheet

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.