• Battle of the Books!! 

    August 2019

    Students –

    Thank you for expressing interest in the Battle of the Books Club!  As a BOB member, you will be reading books from many genres and interacting with students in grades 6, 7, and 8.  The club will meet from 3:00-4:15 in the Media Center on the following dates: 

    Wed., Sept. 4

    Wed., Oct. 16 – Test Tracks 1, 2, 3

    Wed., Sept. 18

    Wed., Oct. 23 – Test Track 4

    Wed., Oct. 2

     

    Five book titles have been selected for the Battle of the Books test to be given on Oct. 16 for tracks 1, 2 & 3 and Oct. 23 for track 4.  Students will also be tested on ALL TITLES AND AUTHORS from the 2019-2020 BOB list.

    The results of the test will determine the ten students who will be chosen for the Lufkin team.  The county competition is generally held in February.

     5 Titles:

    1. Gym Candy by Carl Deuker
    2. The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan
    3. Legend by Marie Lu
    4. Bomb: The Race to Build and Steal the World's Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin
    5. I am Malala: How One Girl Stood up for Education and Changed the World by Malala Yousafzai (Young Reader’s edition with Patricia McCormick)

     I will hold copies of the five titles behind the circulation desk for BOB members only.  Please visit your local library to find these titles also.

    To prepare for the test we will brainstorm details from each book and review title and author information at each meeting.

    Students chosen to compete for the Lufkin BOB team will continue to meet on these dates: 

    Wed., Nov. 6

    Wed., Jan. 8

    Wed., Feb. 5

    Wed., Nov. 20

    Wed., Jan. 15

    Wed., Feb. 12

    Wed., Dec. 4

    Wed., Jan. 22

    Wed., Feb. 19

    Wed., Dec. 18

    Wed., Jan. 29

    Wed., Feb. 26

     Good luck!

     2019-2020 BOB List

    North Carolina School Library Media Association
    Middle School Battle of the Books List
    2019-2020

    Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty
    Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling 
    The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
    Gym Candy by Carl Deuker
    The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan
    The Boys Who Challenged Hitler by Phillip Hoose
    House Arrest by K. A. Holt
    Cracker! The Best Dog in Vietnam by Cynthia Kadohata
    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
    Legend by Marie Lu
    Greenglass House by Kate Milford
    A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
    A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielsen
    The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Perez
    Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by JK Rowling
    Bomb by Steve Sheinkin
    I'll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan
    The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan
    The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen
    Crow by Barbara Wright
    I Am Malala* by Malala Yousafzai

    *Young Reader's edition with Patricia McCormick

     

    Questions?
    Ms. Ruby - druby@wcpss.net
    919-387-4465 Ext. 25681

    Co-Advisor:  Ms. Raffensperger - eraffensperger@wcpss.net