•  What student organizations are available at Holly Grove Elementary?!

    Club Name Description Contact
    Best Buddies Best Buddies International consists of volunteers that create opportunities for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD). The program's main purpose is to allow volunteers to be paired up with a buddy with an intellectual and developmental disability and provide them with a friend or a mentor. Best Buddies is the world's largest organization dedicated to ending the social, physical and economic isolation of the 200 million people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

    Mrs. Russell (erussell2@wcpss.net)

    Ms. Blackley (lblackley@wcpss.net)

    Drama Club  Drama Club. 5th grade, Tues/Thurs afternoons, usually in the spring.

    Ms. Starkey (jstarkey@wcpss.net)

    Mrs. Przybowski (cprzybowski@wcpss.net)

    Feed the Bin

    FEED THE BIN is a county-sponsored paper recycling program that pro-
    vides funding for mixed paper recycling at each Wake County Public SchoolSystem (WCPSS) School and public charter schools. It also provides complimentary educational resources for students and teachers. Although the program is mainly targeted at students who are in attendance in the county’s public schools it is the intent to reach the majority of the Wake County population as the students share information regarding solid waste and recycling with their families. Since its inception in 2004, the program has proven to be very successful not only in promoting recycling and reducing waste at school sites but, also in educating students about solid waste issues. Presently, 176 school sites are currently participating in the program with the addition of new schools each year. Each school is recycling mixed paper that consists of: white and colored paper, brochures, pamphlets, envelopes, file folders, junk mail, letterhead, magazines and catalogs, newspaper, notebook paper, posters, and sticky notes. In addition, schools are also recycling cardboard, cans, and bottles along with miscellaneous items such as ink cartridges, batteries, and crayons through
    their own contractor.

    Ms. Shields (tshields@wcpss.net)
    Garden Club

    The HGES Garden Club maintains the school garden located behind the school, near to the orange and purple playground.  The garden club consists of 40+ 3rd-5th grade students.  The Garden Club meets most Wednesdays from 4-5pm.  All meetings can be found on the HGES Google Calendar.

    Mrs. Russell (erussell2@wcpss.net)

    Ms. Blackley (lblackley@wcpss.net)

    Hawks Helping Hedgehogs Book Club The Hawks Helping Hedgehogs (HHH) book club is run by Principal SImmons and student volunteers from Holly Springs HS. 4th and 5th grade students who demonstrate a passion for reading are nominated by their teachers to participate.  The club meets monthly to discuss books which are chosen by a majority vote. 

    Mrs. Simmons (ssimmons@wcpss.net)

    HSHS students

    Hedgehog Hustlers Run Club The HGES Run Club. 

    Mrs. McLamb (kmclab@wcpss.net)

    Mrs. Schaefer (tschaefer2@wcpss.net)

    Mrs. Hardison (lhardison@wcpss.net)

    Ms. Olsen (solsen2@wcpss.net)

    Hedgehogs in Harmony Hedgehogs in Harmony is group of 4th and 5th grade leaders who aspire to deepen and share their love of music with others. All members and leaders believe that fostering a safe and loving environment provides students of all backgrounds the opportunity to express themselves in a universal language. We meet Thursday mornings from 8-9 am.

    Ms. Hicks (kmhicks@wcpss.net

    Mrs. Amy Jones (asjones@wcpss.net)

    Lego League First Lego League (FLL) is open to 4th and 5th grade students who are interested in team building and problem solving. We team together with the Holly Springs High School Robotics Team “Hawktimus Prime” and they teach students to design, build, and program robots using Lego Mindstorms. Club members will learn basic programming and mechanical skills, how to work and function as a team, and also learn about FLL’s core values that stress positivity, participation, and cooperation. Ms. Bjerke (tbjerke@wcpss.net)
    Safety Patrol Safety Patrol is a program that gives our students the opportunity to take ownership of their school and become leaders, leaders who assist with buses, carpool, hall traffic, and much more. Rising 5th Grade students who are interested in safety patrol should speak to their classroom teachers who will recommend them based on their leadership and behavior, in addition to their formal application.  

     Ms. McCullers (rmccullers@wcpss.net)

    Ms. Holmes (tholmes@wcpss.net)

    Mrs. Young (kyoung4@wcpss.net)

    Sketchbook Club Sketchbook Club is a drawing club for 4th and 5th grade students who are interested in developing their drawing and creativity in a relaxed environment. The club meets on Friday mornings, September through May.  Ms. Bisesi (cbisesi@wcpss.net)