Clubs and Organizations

Upcoming Events

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

Clubs and Organizations | 2015-16

  • Please contact club sponsors for meeting dates, times, and locations

     
    Garner Agriculture Club
    For students who have an interest in agriculture and farming.
    Ms. Cosgrove (scosgrove@wcpss.net)


    GMHS Beta Club
    Garner’s honors organization; students are invited to join each fall based on their GPA.
    Ms. Norris (jnorris2@wcpss.net)  Ms. Marsh (emarsh@wcpss.net)


    Trojan Book Club
    To promote and encourage reading for pleasure , book discussion, and over all get teens to read more.
    Ms. Butler   Ms. Bateman


    Chess Club
    Learn chess strategy and take part in tournaments
    Mr. Clements (cclements@wcpss.net)


    Christian Club
    For students with similar interest and beliefs; weekly fellowship meetings
    Ms. Dean (kdean@wcpss.net)


    Future Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA)
    A leadership club designed on the principles of Family & Consumer Sciences Curriculum
    Mr. Crump (jcrump@wcpss.net)     Ms. Collier (kcollier@wcpss.net)     Ms. Hinz (khinz@wcpss.net)


    DECA
    Emerges leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality, and management.
    Mr. Hill


    Garner Dance Team
    Team performs at games, and school and community events; participates in regional and national competitions
    Ms. Swoboda (kswoboda@wcpss.net)    Ms. Bell (abell4@wcpss.net)


    Garner Gents
    Engages male youth in character development, college and career planning, and service activities
    Mr. Crump (jcrump@wcpss.net)    Ms. Hague (khague@wcpss.net)    Ms. Vernon (tvernon@wcpss.net)


    Girls Up Garner
    Partnered with the UN; explores human rights programming and advocacy to help girls in developing countries
    Ms. Sims (msims2@wcpss.net)


    Gay/Straight Alliance (GSA)
    Safe place offering support for the LGBTQIA/Ally community at Garner; promotes anti-discrimination programs and education
    Mr. Crain (wcrain@wcpss.net)     Ms. Nelson (snelson3@wcpss.net)


    HOSA (Future Health Professionals)
    Develop leadership and technical skills; engage in community service and regional and national competitions
    Ms. Poole (spoole@wcpss.net)


    JETS/Science Olympiad
    Garner’s Science Club; participates in the Science Olympiad competition
    Mr. Himes (whimes@wcpss.net)     Mr. Waluk (cwaluk@wcpss.net)


    Junior Civitan Club
    International service organization, engages in regular volunteer activities
    Ms. Marsh (emarsh@wcpss.net)


    Outdoor Club
    Engages students in activities such as camping, nature walks, backpacking, hiking, and outdoor survival skills; explore careers in outdoor recreation
    Mr. Verstrat (pverstrat@wcpss.net)     Mr. Hope (thope@wcpss.net)


    Students Against Violence Everywhere (SAVE)/Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)
    Promotes non-violence and positive choices among student in and out of school
    Ms. Wilson (awilson6@wcpss.net)


    Skills USA
    Leadership through CTE courses and T&I courses
    Mr. Barbour (abarbour@wcpss.net)


    Sisters Together Achieving Real Success (STARS)
    Empowers young women in positive decision making through presentations, activities, and field trips
    Ms. Cooper (scooper@wcpss.net)     Ms. Nembhard (qnembhard@wcpss.net)     Ms. Williamson (twilliamson2@wcpss.net)


    GMHS Student Government
    Governing body of elected and appointed students.
    Ms.Cottengim


    Student Service and Leadership Team (SSaLT)
    Service learning through lessons on leadership and volunteer opportunities
    Mr. Waluk (cwaluk@wcpss.net)


    Theory of Gaming
    Engage in strategy games and critical thinking board games, RPGs, and CCG card games
    Mr. Clements (cclements@wcpss.net)     Mr. VanBuskirk (gvanbuskirk@wcpss.net)


    Tri-M Music Honor Society
    National, service based honor organization for music students to develop their music and 21st century skills
    Mr. Farrell (jfarrell2@wcpss.net)     Mr. Wanamaker (swanamaker2@wcpss.net)


    Trivia Club
    Prepares students for trivia competitions such as the Brain Game and the Academic Bowl
    Mr. Walls (jwalls@wcpss.net)


    Trojanette Drill Team
    Provide a creative dance outlet for any female student to express their creativity and love of performing.
    Ms. Epps     Ms. Stokes


    GMHS Trojans4Christ Gospel Choir
    Spiritual outlet to motivate, encourage, and inspire Christian students, and learn various styles of gospel/Christian music
    Mr. Cooper (tcooper3@wcpss.net)


    Trojans-4-A-Cure
    Supports the work of the St. Baldrick’s Foundation for childhood cancer research and increase awareness, major fundraising event in the spring
    Mr. Himes (whimes@wcpss.net)     Ms. Willis (jwillis@wcpss.net)     Mr. Boyette (jboyette@wcpss.net)

CLOSE