Select a School...
Select a School

Student Services

Counselors

Student Services
  • So, what does a school counselor do anyway?

    The Garner Magnet High School Student Services Team is committed to promoting responsible leaders who are empowered with knowledge and character through a comprehensive, preventive, and developmental counseling model. The model addresses academic, career, and personal/social development to ensure that every student has equal access to a positive learning environment. In addition, students will acquire the skills necessary to become life-long learners and productive members of a global, multicultural community

    GMHS School Counselors deliver services through classroom guidance lessons, individual and group counseling sessions, technology, and consultation and coordination with teachers and parents.

    Our GMHS Social Worker is a trained and licensed professional that provides a link between the home, school, and community through support services that positively impact the development of the whole child. Our School Social Worker also provides access to school and community resources.

    How do I make an appointment with a Student Services staff member?

    Come by the front office before school, during lunch, or after school to fill out an appointment slip. Your counselor will see you as soon as possible. If you have an urgent need to talk to your counselor, let a front office staff member know immediately. You can also email your counselor using your Wake County Student Email address if you have a question that does not require a face to-face meeting.

  • GMHS Student Services


    Dean of Students

    Tracy Taylor
    ttaylor5@wcpss.net
    (919) 662-2379 ext. 22270
     

    Grade 9 Counselor (A-K)

    Quzette Nembhard
    qnembhard@wcpss.net
    (919) 662-2379 ext.
     

    Grade 9 Counselor (L-Z)

    Ben Bondurant
    bbondurant@wcpss.net
    (919) 662-2379 ext.
     

    Grade 10-12 Counselor (A-D)

    Stacy Davidson
    sdavidson2@wcpss.net
    (919) 662-2379 ext. 23584
     

    Grade 10-12 Counselor (Rj-Z)

    Wilma Hawley
    whawley@wcpss.net
    (919) 662-2379 ext. 23585
     

    Grade 10-12 Counselor (Ko-Ri)

    Stephanie Nelson
    snelson3@wcpss.net
    (919) 662-2379 ext. 23583
     

    Grade 10-12 Counselor (E-Kn)

    Ashley Wilson
    awilson6@wcpss.net
    (919) 662-2379 ext. 23586
     

    College Corps Counselor

    David Sakyi
    gmhs.cacduke@gmail.com
    (919) 773-9562
      

    Intervention Counselor

    Tiona Vernon
    tvernon@wcpss.net
    (919) 662.2379 ext. 22275
     

    SAP Coordinator

    Kira Hague
    @wcpss.net
    (919) 662-2379 ext. 23608
     

    Social Worker

    Sharhonda Cooper
    scooper@wcpss.net
    (919) 662.2379 ext. 23587
ASCA
The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) is a worldwide nonprofit organization based in Alexandria, Va. Founded in 1952, ASCA supports school counselors’ efforts to help students focus on academic, personal/social and career development so they not only achieve success in school but are prepared to lead fulfilling lives as responsible members of society. With a motto of “One Vision, One Voice,” the association provides professional development, publications and other resources, research and advocacy to professional school counselors around the globe.
CLOSE