Return to Headlines

Healthful Living, Civic Literacy- Signs of Suicide Lessons

The adolescent years are marked by a roller-coaster ride of emotions—difficult for youths, their parents, and educators.  It is easy to misread depression as normal adolescent turmoil; however, depression (among the most common of mental illnesses) appears to be occurring at a much earlier age. Depression—which is treatable—is a leading risk factor for suicide. In addition, self-injury has become a growing problem among youth.

 

To proactively address these issues, Athens Drive is offering depression awareness and suicide prevention training as part of the SOS Signs of Suicide® Prevention Program. The program has proven to be successful at increasing help seeking by students concerned about themselves or a friend and is the only school-based suicide prevention program listed by SAMHSA for its National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices that addresses suicide risk and depression, while reducing suicide attempts. In a randomized control study, the SOS high school program showed a reduction in self-reported suicide attempts by 40% (BMC Public Health, July 2007). 

 

Our goals in participating in this program are straightforward:

  • To help our students understand that depression is a treatable illness

  • To explain that suicide is a preventable tragedy that often occurs as a result of untreated depression

  • To provide students training in how to identify serious depression and potential suicidality in themselves or a friend

  • To impress upon youth that they can help themselves or a friend by taking the simple step of talking to a responsible adult about their concerns

  • To help students know whom in the school they can turn to for help, if they need it

 

This topic is part of the healthful living standard course of study. The goal is to educate your child and to give them guidance on how to get help for themselves or a friend. The program will be delivered at Athens Drive by counselors through 9th grade Healthful Living classes and 12th grade Civic Literacy classes. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact your child's counselor, our SAP counselor, or our Dean of Students. 

 

 

Student Last Name

 

 

Counselor

 

 

Email

 

 

A-Cl

 

 

Mrs. Telfair

 

 

stelfair@wcpss.net

 

 

Co-Ha

 

 

Ms. Boothe

 

 

kboothe@wcpss.net

 

 

He-Mc

 

 

Mrs. Sullivan

 

 

rbsullivan@wcpss.net

 

 

Me-Sam

 

 

Mr. Wright

 

 

jwright@wcpss.net

 

 

San-Z

 

 

Mrs. Hegarty

 

 

chegarty@wcpss.net

 

 

SAP Counselor

 

 

Mrs. Burnette

 

 

pburnette@wcpss.net

 

 

Dean of Students

 

 

Ms. Pearson

 

jnpearson@wcpss.net