Return to Headlines

Announcing our 2017-18 Teacher of the Year semi-finalists

Every spring, we honor some of the many outstanding educators in our district through our Teacher of the Year recognition program. 

The journey to finding the 2017-18 Wake County Public School System Teacher of the Year is now officially under way. Teacher of the Year selection committees have completed the first step and have identified the semi-finalists who will compete for this honor. 

Congratulations to the following:

• Lindsey Barton, Smith Elementary 
• Jennifer Browndorf, Hilburn Academy
• Lindsey Button, East Cary Middle 
• Rachel Castaneda, Highcroft Drive Elementary 
• Stephen Colbert, Wake Early College of Health & Sciences
• Heather Collins, Heritage Elementary 
• Taylar Flythe, Ligon Middle 
• Suzanne Gibbons, Wake STEM Early College 
• Betsy Graves,  Broughton High 
• Kelly Harris, Rand Road Elementary
• Christa Hayden, Wakefield High 
• Erica Hoskins, Apex High 
• Erin Johnson, Vernon Malone Academy
• Angela Joyner, Zebulon Magnet Elementary
• Edward Kellett, Martin Middle 
• Erin Lawrence, Apex Friendship High 
• Kathleen Little, Green Elementary 
• Halina Lluberes, Middle Creek High 
• Lauren Miron, Rolesville Middle 
• Tracie Newson, Carpenter Elementary 
• Mary Allison Nunnery, Holly Ridge Elementary 
• Janice Peterson, Fuquay Varina High 
• Katherine Russell, Wendell Middle 
• Lesley Simmons, West Lake Elementary
• Melody Solomon, Wake Young Women’s Leadership Academy
• Erin Van Sickle, Wake Forest Middle 
• Stephanie Wacek, Lynn Road Elementary 
Teacher of the Year candidates are nominated and elected by their peers at their individual schools. The nominees develop an eportfolio that highlights their work and philosophy around teaching.

Selection committees review the portfolios and narrow the field to a group of semi-finalists, who then submit short videos reflecting how they incorporate the 4Cs into their work. After reviewing these videos and making classroom visits, the committees then determine the 13 finalists.

The finalists then appear before an interview committee for the selection of the Teacher of the Year.

The semi-finalists will be recognized at the March 7 Board of Education meeting. The 13 finalists will be announced in early April. The winner will be named at a special celebration on May 8 at the Raleigh Convention Center.
teacher of the year semi finalists