Return to Headlines

1-29-21 Message from Principal Hamler

Wake Forest High School Principal's Message

January 29, 2021

 


 

Greetings,

 

With a new semester underway, we would like to provide parents with up-to-date information on our school. Please see below for important websites, details, opportunities, and remote learning support workshops.

 

WAKE FOREST HIGH SCHOOL WEBSITE and SOCIAL MEDIA IS UPDATED REGULARLY:

 

https://www.wcpss.net/wakeforesths

 

Twitter: @wakeforesths / @wfhscounselors

 

Daily schedule: https://www.wcpss.net/Page/4970

 

Promotion requirements:

 

Grade Promotion Criteria Credits

 

9 English I, two credits in the areas of mathematics, social studies, or science, and three additional credits 6

10 English II, one credit in mathematics, one in social studies, one in science, and two additional credits 12

11 English III and enrollment in a program which, if successfully accomplished, will result in the completion of graduation requirements 18

 

How to monitor grades and attendance throughout the semester:

 

Where can a parent get PowerSchool/ Parent Portal access? Form is located on WFHS Website: https://www.wcpss.net/cms/lib/NC01911451/Centricity/Domain/69/parent-portal-hand-delivery.pdf

 

Form can be filled out and returned along with a copy of Driver’s License in an email to: btaylor6@wcpss.net

 

How do I find teacher’s email and websites? https://www.wcpss.net/domain/3755

 

How do I know who my student’s counselor is? https://www.wcpss.net/Page/25797

 

School counselors can help with academic planning, tips for getting back on track, setting up conferences with all teachers, and student support.

 

What if my student’s WakeId password needs to be reset?

 

Call Amy Burger in Student Services #919-554-8611 ext. 23689

 

Where does my student find their WakeId Portal, email, Powerschool, Google Class, Canvas etc? Watch this video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1o6IzolILbqE_is6wnT3XH8DsWeITEgeC/view?usp=sharing

 

Did you know that grades have an effect on driving privileges and athletic eligibility? https://www.wakecountyathletics.com/wakeforesths

 

How do I sign my student up for Driver’s Education, how do I obtain a Driver Eligibility Certificate? https://www.wcpss.net/domain/4177

*Remember that the student must pass 3 of 4 courses in order to get and maintain a NC Driver License or permit. Students also must pass 3 of 4 to play a sport.

 

How can parents learn more to help support students in virtual learning?

Organization and time management Lunch Group begins February 9! Email kzinner@wcpss.net for more information. If you’d like an individual session to focus on improving grades, Ms. Zinner can also help with that! She is our School Counseling Intern from UNC-CH.

 

 

 

 

Please let us know if you need additional assistance or resources.

 

Sincerely,

 

Student Services

Wake Forest High School

Laura Inscoe, Dean of Students, linscoe@wcpss.net Jodi Deskus, Student Assistance Program Counselor, jdeskus@wcpss.net Erika Mukenge, 9th grade Counselor Last names A-M, emukenge@wcpss.net Alicia Stoeckel, 9th grade Counselor Last names N-Z, astoeckel@wcpss.net Lisette Pike, 10-12 grade Counselor Last names A-G, lpike@wcpss.net Bryce Gibbons, 10-12 grade Counselor Last names H-N, bgibbons@wcpss.net Zohra Sadat, 10-12 grade Counselor Last names O-Z, zsadat@wcpss.net