Return to Headlines

Daneen Khan named NC High School Journalist of the Year

Daneen Khan


The North Carolina Scholastic Media Association named Green Level High School journalist Daneen Khan the 2023 Rachel Rivers-Coffey North Carolina High School Journalist of the Year.


Khan is the co-editor-in-chief of the Green Level High school newspaper The Gator’s Eye. Judges emphasized the strength of Khan’s writing across different platforms and creating an engaged newsroom.


One judge wrote, “Daneen displayed an impressive variety of writing in her portfolio, handling news, feature and opinion well, showing that she has mastered many types of journalistic writing.” 


Another said, “Daneen Kahn’s submission reflects a student who is engaged not just in journalism, but the world around her. She displays an innate curiosity and willingness to test her own boundaries that is crucial to success as a reporter, editor and leader. The depth and breadth of her interests are clear in her reporting and writing, as is her commitment to building an engaged, diverse and relevant newsroom for her school.”


Alternates for Journalist of the Year are Emmy Benton of First Flight High School in Kill Devil Hills, Olivia Metelo of Enloe Magnet High School in Raleigh and Taylor Newton of First Flight High School in Kill Devil Hills.


Since 2001, the North Carolina Press Foundation (NCPF) has funded the annual scholarship award in memory of Rachel Rivers-Coffey, former N.C. Press Association president.


NCPF will award a $3,000 scholarship to Khan. The three alternates will each receive $1,000.


The foundation will also award the winners’ journalism programs. The Journalist of the Year’s program will receive $500. The three alternates’ programs will each receive $250.


The Rivers-Coffey state scholarships and awards will be presented June 20-22 during the N.C. Scholastic Media Institute, a summer journalism workshop open to students and teachers across the state.


Khan represented the state in the National High School Journalist of the Year scholarship competition.