• Clubs & Organizations

    Pic
    Sixth, seventh, and eighth grade students have many opportunities to participate in a wide variety of after-school activities including clubs and performing groups. Students that are not present at school are not permitted to attend any after-school activities or practices that day.
     
     
    Club information will be updated for the 2018-2019 school year as it becomes available.  See the list below for a general idea of clubs offered to our students.   
     
 
 Art Portfolio Club
Advisor(s):
Ms. Wasilewski (swasilweski@wcpss.net), Ms. Hunter (dhunter@wcpss.net)
Description:
 
 

 
 Cheer Club
Advisor(s):
Coach Avery (mavery2@wcpss.net)
Description:
Cheer club is held during the Spring sport season for 6th and 7th grade students. In cheer club, we work on specific tumbling skills based on each participant’s level as well as learning and practicing stunting techniques. We also practice basic cheer skills such as jumps, motions, and flexibility. All skills levels are invited to join, it is a great opportunity to learn something new and practice this active and exciting sport! Wednesday's 3-5pm in the gym, March and April dates in 2019.
 
 

 
 Fall Running Club
Advisor(s):
Coach Markham (smarkham@wcpss.net), Coach Haymore (jhaymore@wcpss.net)
Description:
The Leesville Road Middle School Running Club is a club designed for students to improve their cardiovascular endurance while exercising in a positive social setting. The Running Club is open to all 6th, 7th and 8th graders and meets after school on Tuesday's beginning in mid September. Students may walk, jog or run at their own pace, with each student setting their own goals to improve their fitness level. The Running Club is sponsored by New Balance Raleigh on Glenwood Avenue.
 
 

 
 FCA
Advisor(s):
Advisors: Ms. Johnson (rjohnson5@wcpss.net) and Ms. Smith (csmith26@wcpss.net)
Description:
Fellowship of Christian Athletes(FCA) is open to EVERYONE. Fun games, food and an inspiring message! Room 127 after school. Dates for 2018-2019 Sept. 12;26 Oct. 10;24 Nov. 7;28 Dec. 12;19 Jan. 9;23 Feb. 6;20 Mar. 6;20 Apr. 3;24 May 8th last meeting for the year! This is a 'come when you can club'- you don't have to attend every meeting.
 
 

 
 FCCLA
Advisor(s):
Ms. Britt (tbritt3@wcpss.net)
Description:
Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) is a student organization that centers around family and aligns with Family and Consumer Science courses such as Family Focus and Consumer Focus. Check out more by going to: www.fcclainc.org.
 
 

 
 Future Business Leaders of America
Advisor(s):
Ms. Buck (abuck@wcpss.net)
Description:
See Ms. Buck about joining! Room 203
 
 

 
 Hispanic Student Support
Advisor(s):
Ms. Osinski kosinski@wcpss.net
Description:
The Hispanic Student Support group meets after school on Wednesdays. High School students help facilitate a time of homework help and fun! Come and get to know other students. Email Ms. Osinski for more information.
 
 

 
 International Club
Advisor(s):
Ms. Wilcox (bwilcox@wcpss.net) and Ms. Carey (ecarey@wcpss.net)
Description:
This club studies the cultures of countries around the world while taking off-campus excursions to festivals and restaurants that support the international community.
 
 

 
 Musical Theatre Performance
Advisor(s):
Ms. Casterline (ccasterline@wcpss.net), Ms. Pfeiffer (lpfeiffer@wcpss.net)
Description:
All information about the Musical Theatre Performance of Lion King Jr. is found on their website linked here. Use the Menu option.
 
 

 
 National Junior Honor Society
Advisor(s):
Michael Ronco mronco@wcpss.net
Description:
Seventh grade students who have maintained a minimum GPA of 3.5 in sixth grade and on their seventh grade first semester report card become candidates for selection into the Leesville Road Middle School Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society. Selection and membership for the National Junior Honor Society at Leesville Road Middle School is based upon five principles: character, citizenship, service, leadership, and scholarship.
 
 

 
 Pride Ambassadors & G.E.M.S.
Advisor(s):
Mr. Harris rharris7@wcpss.net (Pride Ambassadors), Ms. Howard jhowardleonce@wcpss.net (G.E.M.S.)
Description:
The purpose of this club is to provide an opportunity for male and female students to cultivate their leadership skills as contributors to the school and community through various community services projects.
 
 

 
 Raising Readers
Advisor(s):
Ms. Kaulfuss (ekaulfuss@wcpss.net)
Description:
2018-2019 Book Club dates 11/8, 1/10, 3/14, 5/9
 
 

 
 Student Council
Advisor(s):
Ms. Wilcox
Description:
bwilcox@wcpss.net
 
 

 
 Turtle Habitat Club
Advisor(s):
Mr. Fogelsoner, Ms. Ricciuti & Mrs. Nelson
Description:
The turtle habitat club takes care of the LRMS courtyard so that our turtle habitat is kept in good shape for our eastern box turtles. We will be planting bulbs, raking leaves, weeding and keeping the area free of trash.
 
 

 
 Unplugged Game Club
Advisor(s):
Mr. Fogelsonger (afogelsonger@wcpss.net), Mrs. Nelson (lnelson4@wcpss.net) & Ms. Ricciuti (kricciuti@wcpss.net)
Description:
Do you like to play board games? Chess? Connect 4, Name 5, etc? Then sign up for the "unplugged" game club. We also got a grant for some Rubik's Cubes. No electronic games allowed. Just face to face fun interacting with your friends. Club meets Tuesdays after school. Dates and sign-up available soon.
 
 

 
 Yearbook Club
Advisor(s):
Ms. Matal (dmatal@wcpss.net)
Description:
Open to 7th and 8th grade students only. Go to the website for all the information you need!