• 4-H

    Check out their website here.

     

    Battle of the Books

    Open to all middle school students, grades 6-8. Students at participating schools read books from a list established by the state Battle of the Books committee, and then compete in quiz-bowl-style tournaments to test their knowledge of these books. Advisor Jennifer Cassidy,  jcassidy1@wcpss.net

     

    Chess Club

    Students learn to play chess or advance chess skills in a fun competitive atmosphere. Advisor Jarett Prady, jprady@wcpss.net

     

    Minecraft Club

    Advisor, Victoria Hofmeister, vhofmeister@wcpss.net

     

    National Junior Honor Society

    NJHS is a national organization. Members must maintain a 3.5 cumulative GPA, complete a minimum of 10 hours of community service (at least 5 within school and at least 3 outside of school), and participate in NJHS group service projects. Sixth and seventh grade students who have maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.5 are notified during the second semester, and have the opportunity to apply for selection into the NJHS. Selection is based on leadership experience, service experience, participation in other school activities, and teacher evaluations. If selected, students are inducted at the end of the school year and remain in the organization as long as all membership requirements are met.

    Advisor Briley Vickery,  bvickery@wcpss.net
     

     

    Odyssey of the Mind

    Odyssey of the Mind is an international educational program that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college. Team members apply their creativity to solve problems that range from building mechanical devices to presenting their own interpretation of literary classics. They then bring their solutions to competition on the local, state, and World level.

     

    Science Olympiad

    SO is devoted to improving the quality of science education, increasing student interest in science and providing recognition for outstanding achievement in science education by both students and teachers. These goals are accomplished through activities, research, and the encouragement of regional, state and national tournaments.

     

    Step Team

    Advisor Taneshia Harris, tharris@wcpss.net

     

    Student Council

    Students elect student council representatives. Members and officers work with a faculty advisor to plan student activities for the school year. Advisor Forrest Shutt, fshutt@wcpss.net

     

    Yearbook

    Students examine journalistic writing and publishing. Students learn the fundamentals of yearbook design from theme development to marketing and distribution. Communication skills are developed through the use of oral language, written language, and other media/technology to complete activities including: interviewing, organizing information, writing various journalistic pieces such as feature stories, sports stories, student and faculty profiles, etc. Additionally, students refine their revision, editing, and proofreading skills and learn the basics of page layout and design. Collaborative work efforts, the use of technology as a publishing tool, and development of responsibility are emphasized. The end product is the Dillard Drive Middle School yearbook. Advisor, Ashton McGuire, amcguire@wcpss.net