In order to attend kindergarten, children must be 5 years old on or before August 31 of the current school year. In accordance with state law, gifted children who are age 4 by April 16 also will be considered for admission.
Enroll for the 2014-15 school year
Rising Kindergarteners can pre-enroll beginning Jan. 13, 2014 at their assigned base school. To view the school assigned to your address, visit http://www.wcpss.net/preview. Parents can sign up to receive an email with the latest events and news.
Families whose primary language in not English should visit The Center for International Enrollment, Crossroads 1, 5625 Dillard Drive, Cary, NC 27518 to get assistance with paperwork.
- Completed registration forms
- Parent/legal guardian photo ID
- Proof of residence in the form of a current electric, city gas or city water bill, signed lease agreement or closing statement in the name of the parent(s) or court-appointed guardian with a closing date within 45 days. Telephone, cable television bills and driver's licenses do not qualify.
- A certified copy of the child's birth certificate, which can be obtained from the county or state health department where the child was born.
- Immunization records. For a list of all required immunizations, visit the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. If you do not have a certified immunization record, contact your physician or the Wake County Human Services. A new series of shots can be administered. If a record of completed immunizations is not received after 30 days, the principal is required by law to suspend the child from school on the 31st day until evidence of immunizations is presented.
Additional items needed later
- A completed Kindergarten Health Assessment. North Carolina law requires that a kindergarten health
assessment be completed on or before the first day of school
before a child can enter kindergarten. The health assessment
must be completed no more than 12 months prior to the date
of entry. Physical examination forms are available at Wake
County schools, area doctors' offices or at the Wake County
Health Department. Parents whose children do not have a
regular physician can get health assessments and immunizations
through the Wake County Health Department. First-time appointments
should call (919) 250-3947.
- If coming from another school system, a completed Discipline Status Enrollment form is required.