•  Career and Technical Education

     

    Career and Technical Education (CTE) is an integral part of the comprehensive secondary school program in Wake County.

     

    Mission of your department:

    The mission of Career and Technical Education (CTE) is to empower students to be successful citizens, workers, and leaders in a global economy by promoting Problem Based Learning.

    Vision of your department:

    Our vision is to promote career & technical education opportunities to students within our service area to enhance skill levels, promote educational opportunities, and prepare students for future career prospects.

     
     Animal Science 1 & 2
    Environmental & Natural Resources 1 & 2
     Accounting 1 & 2
     Fashion Merchandising
     Advanced Digital Media
     Foods 1 & 2
     Advanced Game Art Design  
     Game Art Design
     Apparel and Textile Production 1 & 2
     Health Science Education
     Business Law 
     Horticulture 1 & 2
     Business Management
     Hospitality & Tourism 
     Career Academy Internship 
     Interior Design 1 & 2
     Career Management
     Marketing
     Carpentry 1 & 2
     Microsoft Excel & Access
     Computer Engineering Technology 1 & 2
     Microsoft Word & Powerpoint
     Computer Programming 1 & 2
     Multimedia & Webpage Design
     Computer Science Principles
     Network Engineering Technology 1 & 2
     Core and Sustainable Construction
     Parenting & Child Development
     CTE Advanced Studies 
    Personal Finance
     Digital Media
     SAS Programming 1 & 2
     Drafting 1 & 2
     Scientific & Technical Visualization 1
     Early Childhood Education 1 & 2
     Sports & Entertainment Marketing 1 & 2
     E-Commerce 1
     Technology Engineering & Design
     Entrepreneurship 1 & 2
     Teen Living

     

    CTE OFFERS A MULTITUDE OF COURSE MANY OF WHICH CAN BE OFFERED AT THE HONORS LEVEL

    Helpful site and/or tools used frequently in your department:

    Elements Testing Teacher Site http://nccte.thinkgate.net
     
    Elements Testing Student Site https://nccteassessment.thinkgate.net/wake

    WCPSS CTE http://www.assignment.wcpss.net/what-we-teach/programs/cte.html

    NCDPI CTE http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/cte/

     
     
First Name Last Name Title Email Room Number Website
Tameka Almond Family & Consumer Science talmond@wcpss.net 618 talmondkhs.pbworks.com" target="_blank">talmondkhs.pbworks.com
Anthony Byrd Marketing abyrd2@wcpss.net 1611 abyrd2khs.pbworks.com" target="_blank">abyrd2khs.pbworks.com
Jason DeNobel Business, Finance & Info Tech jdenobel@wcpss.net 2613 jdenobelkhs" target="_blank">jdenobelkhs
Geof Duncan Career Academy CDC gduncan@wcpss.net 1516 gduncankhs.pbworks.com" target="_blank">gduncankhs.pbworks.com
Joyce Ellis Family & Consumer Science jellis1@wcpss.net 610 jellis1khs.pbworks.com" target="_blank">jellis1khs.pbworks.com
John McGrath Technology jmcgrath@wcpss.net 1518 jmcgrathkhs.pbworks.com" target="_blank">jmcgrathkhs.pbworks.com
Dennis Short Trade & Industry dshort@wcpss.net 514 dshortkhs.pbworks.com" target="_blank">dshortkhs.pbworks.com
Christopher Smith Public Safety csmith21@wcpss.net 1617 csmith21khs.pbworks.com