WCPSS names semifinalists for Wake Teacher of the Year

The Wake County Public School System has named 26 teachers as semifinalists for the Wake County Teacher of the Year. The semifinalists are:

Dorothy Andrews of Daniels Middle
Shannon Barbour of Wendell Elementary
Emily Blair of Banks Road Elementary
Katelyn Bradshaw of Green Hope High
Sarah Bratton of Sycamore Creek Elementary
Laurie Bubenik of Vandora Springs Elementary
Melissa Darrow of Wakefield Elementary,
Susan DePerno of East Cary Middle
Christine Hahner of Wiley Magnet Elementary
Joy Hughes of Holly Ridge Middle
Rebecca Jarman of Stough Elementary
Antoinette Kelly of Green Magnet Elementary
Janice Kidd of Mills Park Middle
Justin Kram of Powell Magnet Elementary
Kristen Larsen of Sanderson High
Kelly McNamara of Leesville Road Elementary
Jeannie Noble of Yates Mill Elementary
Brian Quigley of Lockhart Elementary
Emily Quigley of Holly Springs Elementary
Allison Reid of Heritage High
William Slechta of West Cary Middle
Penny Smith of East Millbrook Magnet Middle
Gail Stevens of Dillard Drive Middle
Marcia Timmel of North Garner Middle
Rebecca Williams of East Wake School of Health Science
Jennifer Wood of Smith Magnet Elementary

The next step in the process for the semifinalists is classroom observations by Teacher of the Year committee members. A reception will be held March 26 to announce the 13 finalists selected for Wake County Teacher of the Year. The annual banquet to name the Wake County Teacher of the Year will be held May 8.

Tags: , ,